MV1 - Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Loading...

Go to Application

Title/License Plate Application MV1

1/2018

Pursuant to Chapter 340, 341.08, 342.06, WI Statutes

How To Complete This Application

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

QUESTIONS: (608) 264-7447

You may be eligible to apply online, see: wisconsindmv.gov/emvpublic. For a list of title and registration locations, visit: wisconsindmv.gov/partners. To apply for a title and/or license plates for your vehicle, you must complete Sections A through F as they apply. Include the original Certificate of Title (not a copy) for a used vehicle. Include the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin for a new vehicle. To obtain a replacement title please use form MV2119, Replacement Title Application. Note: The electronic record held by the department is the official vehicle title record 342.09(4)(b).

SECTION

(Instructions continued on back of this page)

A Vehicle Owner Information

Owner/Co-owner:  The names that will be on the new title. “And” means all owners must sign the title to transfer ownership. “Or” means only one owner must sign the title. Opt Out: You may remove your name(s) from mailing lists that contain 10 or more individual names by checking the box. Businesses are not eligible for opt out. Social Security Number and Driver License Number: If you are applying as an individual, you are required to provide your Social Security Number (SSN), under s.342.06(1)(eg) Wis. Stats. If you have a WI driver license, you may provide that number instead of your SSN. Under the Social Security Act, 42 USCs. 405,(c)(2)(C) (i), the department and other state and federal agencies may use the SSN for purposes authorized by law. FEIN: Federal Employer Identification Number is required for corporations or other non-individual owners.

B Vehicle Information – Mandatory Display

To legally operate a car or light truck, you must display license plates within two business days of purchase. Provide either a license plate to transfer or a temporary plate number. License Plate Transfers:  The following license plate types belong to you. You may transfer them from a vehicle you no longer use to another vehicle of the same type that belongs to you, your spouse, or domestic partner (as defined by Ch. 770 Wis. Statutes): Auto (passenger vehicle) Driver Ed Truck (up to 8,000 lbs.) Municipal Motorcycle

Farm Truck (up to 12,000 lbs.) Dual Purpose Veh.(up to 8,000 lbs.)

Motor Home Dual Purpose Farm (up to 8,000 lbs.)

Temporary Plate:  If you do not have a plate to transfer, take your application to a DMV Customer Service Center that processes vehicle registration or an agent authorized by DMV to obtain a metal or temporary plate. An agent will charge a $3 temporary plate fee, give you a temporary plate valid for 90 days and may also charge a service fee. For locations please see: wisconsindmv.gov/centers or wisconsindmv.gov/partners Salvage: • Vehicle less than 7 years old which has been damaged by collision or other occurrence to the extent that the cost of repairing the vehicle would exceed 70% of fair market value • A vehicle last titled in another state as a salvage vehicle. Note: You cannot drive a salvage vehicle until it passes a salvage inspection, except to travel to the inspection site.

Police/Taxi:  A vehicle that has been used, or will be used, as a

D

police vehicle or taxi. Flood Damaged:  A vehicle damaged by water to the extent that the estimated or actual repair costs, whichever is greater, exceeds 70% of fair market value. Hail Damaged:  A vehicle less than 7 years old damaged solely by hail to the extent that the estimated or actual cost, whichever is greater, to repair the vehicle exceeds 70% of its fair market value. Refer to Wisconsin Statutes 341.268 for definition of homemade, reconstructed, replica and/or street modified vehicles. Loan Information:  If you borrowed money for this vehicle, contact the lender for the correct information. Please show complete mailing address. Any title with a lien (loan) listed on or after July 30, 2012, will be sent to the lien holder. Vehicle owners will receive a Confirmation of Ownership and will receive the actual title when all liens are cleared.

E Fees

Title Fee:  Applying for a title only (without plates) does not allow you to legally operate your vehicle on a Wisconsin roadway. To legally operate your vehicle, you must also apply for Wisconsin license plates. State Sales Tax:  Pay 5% sales tax unless one of the reasons below applies. List the code number and information requested: CODE REASON 1. Motor vehicle previously titled in Wisconsin and purchased from spouse, parent, child, spouse’s parent, child’s spouse, stepparent or stepchild. List appropriate one. 2. Purchaser is Common or Contract Carrier using the vehicle exclusively as such. List Authority Number. 3. Lessor reporting gross receipts from rental or lease. List Seller’s Permit or Use Tax Number. 4.

Purchaser is State of WI or other Federal or WI government unit or agency.

5.

Tax paid to another state. List state and submit proof.

6.

Purchaser is not a resident of WI and will not use motor vehicle in WI except to remove it from WI. List residence state.

8.

Religious, charitable, educational or other nonprofit organization. List appropriate one and CES#.

9.

Miscellaneous. Specify in ‘if other, list reason’

LOCAL SALES TAX — Determine which county the vehicle will be kept in and multiply the amount subject to tax by the tax rate (if any) for that county. For county tax rate information, visit revenue.wi.gov, search for “tax rates” and select “4. What is the county rate?”. For all tax questions, call the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at (608) 266-2776. License Plate Fee Regular passenger vehicle plates are for automobiles, vans with more space for seating people than carrying property, and jeep-type or sport utility vehicles with a back seat. Regular light truck plates are based on gross weight* and are for pick-up trucks, vans with more space for carrying property than seating people, and jeep-type or sport utility vehicles without a back seat. * Gross weight – see gross weight fee schedule License plates for other types of vehicles and special license plates are listed in Section F on back of application.

Miscellaneous Fees Electric Surcharge and Wheel Tax for passenger cars or trucks registered at 8,000 lbs. or less (excluding dual purpose farm vehicles): An annual wheel tax and/or surcharge applies if you are purchasing or renewing license plates and the vehicle is: 1) Kept in a municipality or county that requires a wheel tax. Please visit wisconsindmv.gov/wheeltax for a complete list of taxes. 2) Electric vehicle ($100 annual surcharge). Counter Service Fee is required if you apply in person at a DMV Customer Service Center. Processing Fee: If application is solely to add a loan and the Secured Party is not filing electronically, add $5 for DMV processing. Nonexempt Secured Parties must pay an additional $20 surcharge that may not be charged to the customer.

F License Plate Type: See page 2 of application. If you are not purchasing regular passenger vehicle or light truck plates:  Determine  Write

the plate type and fee in Section E.

 Complete

all applicable information in Section F.

 Insurance

must be on file with DMV for the following vehicle

types:



the plate type you need.

ADA: The Wisconsin Department of Transportation complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

 For Hire Auto  Driver Education  Bus  Human Service Vehicle  For Hire Carrier  Rental

Owner Signature(s): Owner(s) shown in Section A must sign. If an owner is under 18, also complete Section H on back.

GROSS WEIGHT FEE SCHEDULE

Gross Weight: Vehicle weight plus the weight of any load you plan to carry. This schedule is not for autos, motorcycles, mopeds and RV trailers. See Section F for column to use in determining gross weight fee. Gross Weight Not Over 4,500 5,000

Release of Non-Exempt Information: Under Wisconsin open records law, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation must provide information from its records to requesters. If you do not want your name and address included in requests we receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to withhold your name and address from those lists. Form MV3592 – Request to Withhold Name and Address is available at DMV Customer Service Centers and at: wisconsindmv.gov/vehicleforms.

H Consent to Purchase: See page 2 of application. If an

owner is under 18, a legal custodian, parent or guardian must complete this section.

Enter Gross Weight, Registration Period and fees in Section E. Fees are annual, except that plates for * FARM TRUCKS 12,000 lbs. gross weight or less which are good for two years and expire in February of even numbered years.

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

J

$ 75.00

$ 93.00

$ 44.00

$ 26.00



$ 18.75

$ 37.50



$ 36.75







$ 48.50









6,000

84.00

102.00

54.50

36.50



21.00

42.00

8,000

106.00

124.00

61.00

43.00



26.50

53.00

10,000

155.00

173.00

78.00

60.00



38.75

77.50

12,000

209.00

227.00

95.50

77.50

*$ 45.00

52.25

104.50



61.50

246.00

14,000













39.00

55.00

44.50



56.75

67.50

70.25





16,000

283.00

301.00

127.50

109.50

70.75

70.75

283.00

80.50

88.75

20,000

356.00

374.00

160.00

142.00

89.00

89.00

356.00

93.50

107.00

26,000

475.00

493.00

208.50

190.50

118.75

118.75

475.00

106.50

136.75

32,000

609.00

627.00

263.00

245.00

152.25

152.25

609.00

119.50

170.25

38,000

772.00

790.00

327.50

309.50

193.00

193.00

772.00

119.50

211.00

44,000

921.00

939.00

389.00

371.00

230.25

230.25

921.00

119.50

248.25

50,000

1,063.00

1,081.00

443.50

425.50

265.75

265.75

1,063.00

119.50

283.75

54,000

1,135.00

1,153.00

474.00

456.00

283.75

283.00

1,135.00

119.50

301.75

56,000

1,209.00

1,227.00

505.00

487.00

302.25

302.25

1,209.00

119.50

320.25

62,000

1,367.00

1,385.00

569.50

551.50

341.75

341.75

1,367.00

119.50

359.75

68,000

1,543.00

1,561.00

640.50

622.50

385.75

385.75

1,543.00

119.50

403.75

73,000

1,755.00

1,773.00

727.50

709.50

438.75

438.75

1,755.00

119.50

456.75

76,000

2,081.00

2,099.00

856.50

838.50

520.25

520.25

2,081.00

119.50

538.25

80,000

2,560.00

2,578.00

1,050.00

1,032.00

640.00

640.00

2,560.00

119.50

658.00

Quarterly Registration: Trucks, Tractors, Buses, Motor Homes, and Trailers registered for more than 8,000 pounds gross weight may register quarterly. Farm Trucks and vehicles registered at special or reduced fees are not eligible, except those registered for hauling dairy or raw forest products. Calculate the fee as follows: Annual fee divided by 4, multiplied by number of quarters, plus $5.

Consecutive Monthly Registration: Trucks, Trailers, or Truck Tractors transporting certain commodities are eligible. This requires a minimum of 3 consecutive months registration.

Registration Periods PERIOD HTK, TOR, BUS, TRL 1st Qtr. January–March 2nd Qtr. April–June 3rd Qtr. July–September 4th Qtr. October–December Annual January–December

Enter the number of months of registration you want (minimum of 3 months) and the beginning month of registration, for example: 3/February.

MOTOR HOME April–June July–September October–December January–March April–March

Complete Consecutive Monthly Registration block in Section F. Calculate fee as follows: Annual fee divided by 12, multiplied by number of months, plus $15.

Note: If manufactured housing unit, contact the Department of Safety and Professional Services at: (608) 266-2112.

WISCONSIN TITLE & LICENSE PLATE APPLICATION

MV1-1

1/2018

Title No.  –  New License Plate No.

Amount Received – Document No. Check Cash CC

Received – Date – Opened

Processor ID No.

DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE. Complete form using BLUE or BLACK INK.

Clear

Check any that apply (see instructions) Title Only Salvage Police

   Homemade  Taxi

Instructions

Section A – New Vehicle Owner Information

 Opt Out regarding open records laws (see instructions)

Owner Legal Name (Last, First, Middle Initial OR Business Name)

1

2

3

4

1

2

3

5

6

7

4

5

8

9

10

11

6

7

8

9

Owner Social Security Number – Required





12

13

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

Wisconsin Driver License Number – Required



OR 1

Co-Owner Name (if any) (Last, First, Middle Initial) (check one) OR  AND



14

2

3

4

6

7

9

10



11

State

1

ZIP Code

City

State

Section B – Vehicle Information

4

5

6

7

8

Make

9

10



FEIN Number (if company owned) – Required



OR

12

13



M M D D Y Y Y Y

31

14

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

Lessee Social Security # or Driver License # or FEIN Number – Required

Vehicle Identification Number (standard VIN has 17 characters)

3

30

Owner Day time (Area Code) Telephone Number

1

2

29



City

Lessee Street Address

Year

28

Birth Date

Co-Owner Social Security # or Driver License # or FEIN Number – Required

If this is a leased vehicle, list Lessee Name

1

27



8

M M D D Y Y Y Y

Street Address (include P.O. Box if applicable)

26

– 5

Birth Date



  Flood Damaged  Hail Damaged  Replica  Street Modified  Reconstructed

11

12

13

14

15

2

3

4

ZIP Code

5

6

7

8

WI License Plate to Transfer or Temporary Plate

16

17

Type (Car, Truck, Van, etc.)

1

Color

Check box if plates transferred between spouses/domestic partners (Ch. 770).

 License plates cannot be transferred between other family members.

2

3

4

5

6

7

Vehicle is kept in County

City

OF:





Section D – Loan Information – Use this section if you are adding a new lien

Secured Party Number(s)

1

12

13

14

15

16

17

2

3

4

5

Plate Type

Village Town (check one)

The vehicle described on this application has not been operated upon public highways between dates indicated. From:

City

11

Date You First Drove This Vehicle in Wisconsin

Section C – Non-Operation

Street Address (include P.O. Box if applicable)

10

8

Fleet No. (Optional)

Name of Lending Agency(s) or Person(s)

9

Lessee Day time (Area Code) Telephone Number

6

 OF: Through: (Area Code) Telephone Number

7

8

State

ZIP Code

Section E – Fees Title Fee – $69.50 Purchase Price

$

$

(WARNING: It is a crime to understate the purchase price)

Less trade-in allowance $ Amount subject to tax $ State Sales Tax (amount subject to tax x 0.05) Local Sales Tax (see instructions) Loan Filing Fee – $10 (pay fee for each loan in Section D) License Plate Fee – Required (check one) $75  Passenger Vehicle  Light Truck (private operation only): 4,500 pounds gross weight or less $75 6,000 pounds gross weight or less $84 8,000 pounds gross weight or less $106  Other License Plate Types (see information at right) Miscellaneous Fees (see instructions to determine if any apply) Annual Electric Vehicle Surcharge Wheel Tax Motor Carrier Class Fee from Section F Temporary Plate Fee – $3

$ $ $ $

$ $ $ $

(only if no plate to transfer; and if applying at an authorized agent)

Counter Service Fee – $5 (if you apply in person at WisDOT) $ Processing Fee $ ENTER FEE TOTAL $

Pay title fee if you are changing the owner(s) on the title, or titling the vehicle in Wisconsin for the first time. To obtain a replacement title please use form MV2119, Replacement Title Application. See instructions to determine which taxes apply. If tax exempt, enter code If tax exempt selected is: 1 Qualifying Family Member Enter qualifying family member relationship If other, list reason For other plate types see Section F on back of this page. Enter plate type and gross weight if applicable and registration period Note: For Heavy Vehicles that qualify for Consecutive Monthly or Quarterly registration, see back page of instructions for more information and Special Address. MAIL the original vehicle title (not a copy), application and check to:

WI Dept. of Transportation P.O. Box 7949 Madison WI 53707-7949 Make Check Payable To: Registration Fee Trust

PAGE 2 MUST ALSO BE COMPLETED

MV1-2

1/2018 Remember to print a copy for yourself.

Print

Section F – License Plate Types

 VEHICLE will be used “For Hire”

Vehicle type and use determines the vehicle registration. Fees shown are annual unless otherwise indicated.

 AUT  TMP Automobile



CYC



Intransit/Temporary Operation 30/90 day plate to operate a vehicle except buses, For Hire or IRP vehicles. Fee = $3.

 MOTORCYCLE/MOPED

Motorcycle of less than 1,500 lbs. two-year registration only. Plates expire in April of even numbered years. Fee = $23



Motorcycle

Authority Number:

Passenger Vehicle/Auto Fee = $75. Check if

MPD

Moped (a maximum speed of 30 mph, 50 cc or less if automatic transmission, 130 cc or less if operative pedals) Two-year registration only - plates expire in April of even numbered years. Fee = $23

 MTM  RVT

Motor Home used as temporary or recreational dwelling. Fee = Column “H” of fee schedule.

Recreation



FRM





   

Farm Trailer used exclusively for farm purposes. Fee = Column “F” of fee schedule.

HTK

Truck operated at 8,000 lbs. or more privately or under authority.

LTK

Truck operated at 8,000 lbs. or less privately or under authority.

DPV

Dual Purpose Truck changes between a truck and motor home. (Registered at gross wt. when used as a truck)

} }



Motor vehicle transporting Dairy Products EXCLUSIVELY.

 SEMI  TRL

Semitrailer used with a Truck Tractor. Fee = $50. for non-expiring, not transferable plates

Trailer

Authority Number(s):

Fee = Column “C” of fee schedule if truck-tractor, “D” if truck, “F” if trailer. Vehicle transporting Raw Forest Products EXCLUSIVELY. Must qualify by Wisconsin Statute Truck Tractor normally used with semi-trailer. Fee = Column “B” of fee schedule, or if used as road tractor, column “A” of fee schedule.

  WOOD  TOR

Apply for a US DOT Number: Phone: 1-800-832-5660 Internet: www.safer.fmcsa.dot.gov

Trailer registration is optional for private operation 3,000 lbs. or less. Fee = $37.50. If over 3,000 lbs., registration required. Fee = Column “G” of fee schedule. Trailer for rental or For Hire must be registered. Check Consecutive Monthly Registration block if applicable

 CONSECUTIVE MONTHLY REGISTRATION

Bus capacity = 16 or more persons. Fee = Column “A” of fee schedule  BUS Urban Mass Transportation Bus Fee = $5. (5 year plate)  BBX School Bus Fee = $5. (5 year plate) Pre-sale inspection required  BSB GOV  Official (Star)  Municipal (Tan)  State Owned (Red) Fee of $5 for new plate Plates  Unmarked (choose one):  Auto  Light Truck: Weight lbs.  Cycle issued, $1 for plate transfer. Special  HSV Human Service Vehicle Fee = $75. Funded by WisDOT transportation assistance Use  DEV Driver Education Vehicle Fee = $5. (5 year plate) SPZ Vehicle owned privately and used exclusively for one of the following. Fee = Column “F” of fee schedule.  Bus



       

Fee = Column “A” of fee schedule. Check Consecutive Monthly Registration block if applicable

DAIRY



Include $5 permit fee if operating vehicle ONLY in Wisconsin. No permit fee is required for semi-trailers. Check one: Private - No permit fees (1) Rental - Private (5) Rental - For Hire ... $5 (6) Rental - Private & For Hire ... $5 (7) Intrastate (operate inside Wisconsin only) For Hire, PC or LC ... $5 (8) Interstate (operate outside Wisconsin) For Hire (9) Interstate - Exempt For Hire (3) Interstate - Exempt/Intrastate For Hire (4) NOTE: All For Hire Carriers must show Authority Number(s) (LC, MC, PC, RC)

Farm Truck used primarily for transporting my farm produce and supplies and NOT for traveling to and from a non-farm occupation (if 38,000 pounds or more, truck must be used EXCLUSIVELY for transporting farm produce and supplies.) Fee = Column “E” of fee schedule.

Dual Purpose Farm (Farm and non-farm activity) register at gross wt. when used for non-farm occupation. Farm activity, maximum gross wt. is 12,000 lbs. Fee = Column “A” of fee schedule.

Truck and/or Tractor



MOTOR CARRIER CLASS



FTL

RV Trailer (walls rigid, collapsible or non-collapsible - for human habitation.) Show length at right. Fee = $15

Farm Truck Tractor used EXCLUSIVELY for transporting supplies, farm equipment and products. Annual Fee = Column “J” of fee schedule.

DPF

}

  SPX SUX

 Seasonal hauling of carnival rides & equipment  Transporting grading, ditching, or excavating equipment

Special Mobile Equipment – refer to form MV2953 for more information. Vehicle owned, operated and used exclusively for one of the following. Fee = $5. (5 yr. plate)  Motor Bus for charitable purposes  Motor Bus for parade participants  Other qualifying vehicles

Special A full listing of special plates and applications is available at wisconsindmv.gov/specialplates. Plates AMA Amateur Radio (FCC License) – wisconsindmv.gov/specialplates



 



CLS



OTHER

RV TRAILER LENGTH:



Farm





manufactured for highway use and displays required Federal Certification Label. NOTE: If this box is not checked, the entire application will be returned.

Vehicle Collector Special Plate used on a vehicle by a collector instead of regular plates. Fee = Regular registration plus $15 issuance fee. Show Collector Plate #:



Used exclusively for one of the following: • To transport concrete pipe or block and related materials; calcium chloride liquid; recycled metal salvage materials; logs or pulpwood; dirt, fill or aggregates; fresh milk; perishable fresh fruits or vegetables for canning, freezing, dehydrating or storage prior to processing, including return of waste; petroleum products; or as a weight transfer machine for purposes associated with truck or tractor pulling competitions or events. • To transport gravel, concrete or cement and bituminous road construction materials; or agricultural lime, feed, grain or fertilizer. • As a Motor Truck or Truck-Tractor owned or leased by a retail lumberyard used exclusively to transport building construction materials from retail lumberyards to building construction sites. • To tow stalled or disabled vehicles.

PASSENGER CAPACITY Bus School Bus

HSV

School Bus approved for registration:

Special Plate (Other) - Attach Application

Section G – MAILED APPLICATIONS ONLY – eNotify Electronic Renewal Notification wisconsindmv.gov/enotify X

Sign up to receive your renewal notices electronically! Instructions will be emailed to the address below:

(Signature)

(Badge Number)

Section H – Consent to Purchase UNDER 18 YEARS OLD NOTARY PUBLIC

I certify that I have legal custody of the person named as owner and Date Signed consent to the purchase by such person and registration of the vehicle described in the applicant’s name. County Date my commission expires Date subscribed and sworn to before me

(Date)

Signature (legal custodian, parent or guardian)

X

Notary Signature

X

Vehicle Owner Certification – If an owner is under 18 years old, complete Consent to Purchase (Section H) above. I (we) certify that the information and statements on this application are true and correct. Commercial Carrier: I further certify that I have knowledge of applicable federal and state motor carrier safety rules, regulations, standards, and orders, and declare that all operations will be conducted in compliance with such requirements.

X

(Owner/Lessee Signature)

(Date)

X

(Co-Owner/Lessee Signature)

(Date)

Loading...

MV1 - Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Go to Application Title/License Plate Application MV1 1/2018 Pursuant to Chapter 340, 341.08, 342.06, WI Statutes How To Complete This Application...

2MB Sizes 1 Downloads 14 Views

Recommend Documents

Wisconsin Department of Transportation Forms
... MV2578 No Fee Permit Application for All Self Propelled, Towed or Attached Implements of Husbandry (IoH) and Agricul

Cadenza Document - Wisconsin Department of Transportation
COUNTRYSIDE CHEVROLET BUICK. GMC INC. BEAVER DAM WI. 3/31/19. BUSSE. MIKE. MC 1144. ENTERPRISE MOTORCARS INC. APPLETON.

Wisconsin Department of Transportation Connector newsletter
Top technology at new Sparta SWEF keeps commercial truck traffic moving safely; Three-decade old partnership helps to ma

WI Lemon Law - Wisconsin Department of Transportation
[The manufacturer may, at its option, provide a complete refund of the full purchase price paid for the vehicle in lieu

Transportation Planning Manual Chapter 9 - Wisconsin Department of
Dec 4, 2012 - Various lambda values allow traffic forecasting judgment in using an otherwise deterministic time-trend ex

Wisconsin Commercial Driver's Manual - Wisconsin Department of
Visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/ for: • Federal Rules and Regulatio

state of wisconsin - Wisconsin Department of Justice
Nov 16, 2009 - the language of surrounding or closely-related statutes; and reasonably, to avoid absurd or unreasonable

Apprenticeship in Wisconsin - Wisconsin Department of Workforce
APPRENTICESHIP is a system of work- based learning that fulfills the needs of industry by preparing workers for skilled

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
SPAN/DAY. HOUSE (5-8 DAYS PER HOUSE). RANGE. Unit/8 HourWork Day. COMMON & BORROW EXCAVATION**. * PLASTIC (truck). CU YD

Alaska Department of Transportation
Contacts · Divisions and Sections · DOT&PF Public Notices · Employee Directory · Airports & Aviation · Design and Engine