Ellie's Bridal Boutique - 21 Photos & 164 Reviews - Bridal - 225 N

Loading...

Find tacos, cheap dinner, Max’s Restaurants



Nightlife



Home Services

Ellie’s Bridal Boutique 165 reviews $$ • Bridal, Sewing & Alterations

Near San Francisco, CA ·

Write a Review



Events



Talk

Log In

Claimed

Details Edit

Map

225 N Washington St Alexandria, VA 22314 Old Town Alexandria Get Directions

...

...

Edit

(703) 683-8697

...

See all 21 photos

Photo of Ellie's Bridal Boutique Alexandria, VA, United States by Jacqueline G.

elliesbridal.com Send to your Phone

“The dress selection was gorgeous, the store was comfortable to browse, model, and watch my friend try on dresses, and a nice walk to the King St metro.” in 7 reviews

“If you do choose Ellie's for your bridal/ bridesmaid needs and you're on a budget, try to go during a sample sale or trunk show.” in 6 reviews

Today 10:00 am - 6:00 pm Closed now

$$$$ Price range Moderate

Hours By appointment only

“I tried on several dresses (mostly because my mom wanted me to), but when I tried on that first dress again, my mother and I were in tears.” in 5 reviews

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

Ask the Community Yelp users haven’t asked any questions yet about Ellie's Bridal Boutique.

Edit business info

Recommended Reviews for Ellie's Bridal Boutique

More business info Accepts Credit Cards Yes

Your trust is our top concern, so businesses can't pay to alter or remove their reviews. Learn more.

Search within the reviews

Sort by Yelp Sort

10:00 am - 6:00 pm Closed 10:00 am - 8:00 pm 10:00 am - 8:00 pm 10:00 am - 6:00 pm 10:00 am - 6:00 pm Closed now 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Accepts Apple Pay No Accepts Android Pay No

Language English (165)

Parking Street Bike Parking Yes By Appointment Only Yes Jennifer S.

First to review

Start your review of Ellie's Bridal Boutique.

From the business Jacky M.

We specialize in wide selections of social occasion, prom, and bridal attire, including tuxedo rental and all wedding accessories. We welcome brides of all styles, shapes, and petite …

9/7/2017

Arlington, VA 0 friends

5/5!

4 reviews

I'd been to about 8 other shops before.. Ellie's wasn't the fanciest but they had a great variety.

1 photo

Learn more about Ellie’s Bridal Boutique

The key differentiator for me was Jane. Aka the wedding dress whisperer.. she was honest in her opinions and had an awesome eye. She pulled two dresses that at first glance I wasn't that into.. and one was THE dress and the other the runner up ;)

You might also consider People also viewed

No problems ordering.. came in in plenty of time..

Hitched 114 reviews

The dress was tailored to perfection... sherie was pure magic..

It was designed and made by Modern Trousseau whose showroom in Manhattan I had also visited. Rosalin’s Bridal Boutique 73 reviews

but it had everything I wanted to look at from Allure and Maggie Sottero. Fabulous Frocks

···

54 reviews

I worked with Margaret and she was everything you could want in a consultant.

Lists including Ellie's Bridal Boutique DC Wedding Vendor Search I went through a lot of pain to find this out. Some of the great vendo… 11 businesses

Marielle S.

10/30/2017

Houston, TX 1 friend

It's Not About Food Sure, it may seem that all I do is eat, but sometimes there are other …

I understand weekends are busy, but please consider not overbooking your store during a trunk show. It was just my mom and me shopping on Saturday, and because we didn't have a party of ten (seriously though all the other brides had like ten people with them) we felt like we had been relegated to the back of the store. Whenever I'd come out of the tiny dressing room, there was nowhere for me to stand. At one point I received a nasty comment from another bridal party when my assistant told me I could get on their pedestal while the bride was changing. It was rude and uncalled for, and I felt like I was begging people to let me borrow their mirror. It was so busy everyone was bumping into each other. My mom traveled all the way from Texas for this trunkshow and we were really underwhelmed and frustrated.

17 reviews 2 photos

312 businesses More Lists

Other places nearby Find more Bridal near Ellie's Bridal Boutique Find more Sewing & Alterations near Ellie's Bridal Boutique

Browse nearby

Also, Ellie's dresses were very large. So large, my assistant wasn't able to properly pin the gowns. Please consider bringing in smaller gowns for your smaller brides. It was really upsetting to stand in front of the mirror and not be able to properly see the back of the gown because it had been folded over twice. I appreciated my assistant's help, but with such large dresses, there was only so much she could do.

Restaurants Nightlife Shopping Show all

People found Ellie’s Bridal Boutique by searching for…

Ellie's has good prices on their gowns, but I felt like they tried to squeeze as many people as possible into a small area. The assistants were rushed and trying to accommodate everyone too. Shopping for your gown should be special, not stressful. I was so excited to try on the Pronovias gowns but after thirty minutes, I was fed up. If you come here, make sure you bring a large group as you might be given priority and a mirror. If you're about to spend 2,000 dollars on a dress, it shouldn't feel like you're at an urban outfitters fighting other customers.

Vina P.

Wedding Dress Rentals Alexandria Bridal Dress Shops Alexandria

12/13/2017

Sterling, VA 0 friends

Come to Ellie's for all your bridal wear needs! There is a vast selection of dresses that fall within a wide budget range. The store is very welcoming with a friendly & courteous staff! I purchased my bridal gown here for a great price and I can say I had an amazing experience! I never felt rushed and had an awesome consultant, Jane!! Ask for her when you come to Ellie's!

1 review

Taylor G.

11/27/2017

Sacramento, CA 0 friends

The arrogance and incompetence of the staff at this boutique astounds me, and I caution any bride considering ordering through or with this boutique --

3 reviews

It started earlier this year in June, when I called to place my order for a bridesmaid dress for a wedding in December (I live in California). After first being placed on hold for ten minutes, I hung up, and called back. I was almost immediately placed on hold again (no worries -- I understand what it's like to work in a busy environment!), at which point I was hung up on. I called back (for the third time), and placed my order, overlooking incompetence error #1. On September 18, the bride texted the whole group of bridesmaids stating that our dresses had arrived to the shop, and that many of them had been shipped out. Well - mine hadn't been shipped. I called the shop, and I was told that my dress wasn't shipped out because I didn't pay for shipping. False -- I did, and it was on the receipt sitting in my inbox. All good -- they said they'd get it out to me with 2-day shipping. On November 2, I called the shop because my dress had yet to arrive. They told me that it was sitting "right there with a note on it to ship it to me." Here we have incompetence error #2. My dress arrived about a week later, and alas it was an entire size too big. Instead of getting the dress in midSeptember and having an opportunity to work with the boutique on placing a new order for a different size, I'm forced to spend $140 on alterations for a less-than $300 dress. In email communication with the boutique, they said that "shipping the dress a little late is on them," but there is "nothing that they can do," -- incompetence error #3. Their inability to recognize the emphasis that they should place on customer service, especially for occasions as special as a wedding, both astound me and highlight the level of arrogance that the staff and owners of this boutique possess.

Julie M.

9/24/2017

Alexandria, VA 3 friends

Grace was so helpful and I can't even remember if she or I found the dress I said yes to! They also did a great job with the alterations and there was a lot of intricate beading on the bodice. So happy with the service and an amazing wedding dress!!

6 reviews 1 photo

···

Chandani C.

12/7/2016

Glenarden, MD 56 friends

1 check-in

170 reviews

I visited Ellie's with one of my clients last weekend. Though she didn't end up selecting her gown from here, I was quite impressed with the service we received! She tried on many beautiful dresses that were along the lines of what she wanted (I had called ahead to let them know what styles she likes and they had those pulled out for her already). Our consultant was so kind and helpful. She didn't miss a beat and was constantly available to us during the appointment.

130 photos Elite ’17

The showroom is very comfortable and it's set up in a pretty convenient way. I loved that there was comfortable and spacious seating for those accompanying the bride and waiting while she tries on dresses. I'll be returning with other clients!

···

Aissa C.

11/14/2017

Washington, DC 0 friends

Three of my bridesmaids and I went to Ellie's Bridal this past weekend. I made our appointment several weeks in advance and was really really excited for the opportunity for my girls to try on some dresses in person.

6 reviews 5 photos

Unfortunately, the hour long appointment was a HUGE disappointment. It all began when we checked in. Once they found out we were there for a bridesmaids appointment, literally three out of three employees at the front desk responded with a "oh, ummm, (slow walk away)." We stood there waiting in front of the check in desk for about ten minutes before someone actually greeted us and processed our paperwork. (Trust me, this story gets wayyyy worse). After about 20 minutes or so, we were led to the back of the store where they walked our group (remember, it was myself and three of my bridesmaids) into a medium sized dressing room complete with two small and very messy racks of bridesmaids dresses. As the woman was closing us in there, one of my bridesmaids asked if we would have a consultant...or perhaps just about ANYONE on payroll that would be willing to help us look through the dresses. The woman responded with an annoyed "We are right out here." Awesome. Cool. Thanks? Thankfully, my bridesmaids all knew one another previously...or else the appointment would have gotten EVEN MORE AWKWARD. The three of them all changed in the same room. There were no other options, there weren't even chairs outside this room for us to sit on to give each girl some privacy. I tried to help them with clipping the dresses (oh and ...the dresses were all way too large so we really struggled to clip them to their bodies in a way that actually gave us an idea of what the dresses could look like...) Seriously, they did not have a helpful size variety WHATSOEVER. My girls and I really had to figure it out ourselves. Thankfully they were all champs. After our appointment, we just left out the back door. Nobody ever came in to check on us. Nobody ever came in to check to see if we had stolen all the gowns. Nobody really cared that we were TRYING to give them our business. Needless to say, I refused to have any of my bridesmaids give any money to Ellie's Bridal. Please do some additional research before going to Ellie's Bridal. I would suggest Global Bridal or Bella Bridesmaids!

Tiffany N.

11/10/2017

Cary, NC 171 friends

We came into the establishment with an appointment and we were not greeted. They had no excitement or gratitude towards the consideration of their business for my sister's wedding attire. We were ignored and will not be spending our black dollars there. It is a shame that we did not recieve the respect and customer service level we truly deserved. Just pitiful.

1 review

Lauren C. London, United Kingdom 2 friends 58 reviews 1 photo

12/2/2017 Amazing customer service and lots of selection. I've been here several times and always receive exceptional help in trying dresses. Also, very responsive on email. Highly recommend this shop as it's really a standout!

Suzi S.

11/14/2017

Annapolis, MD 39 friends

Honestly, I find that I have a love-hate relationship with this store. I had a great experience coming in for a trunk show, trying on dresses, and finding 'the one' with my MOH. There were a ton of dresses to choose from, I ordered mine and it arrived on time and in great condition, and I absolutely loved wearing it on my wedding day and received countless compliments on its uniqueness. The ambiance in the store is very fancy and the salespeople made me feel like a princess, or at least a valued client. I even worked with the seamstress to customize some lacy straps and they turned out beautifully. As for the negatives, though, I experienced a bit of a baitand-switch situation with my alterations. I was very clear about my budget from the minute I walked into the store, and my first sales associate pulled several dresses around my price range. When I found the dress that I loved and it was slightly over budget, I asked about alterations he told me that I would not need them since I was planning on wearing tall heels and the dress fit perfectly around the middle. I splurged with this in mind and was very disappointed and panicked when I visited over a year later for my first fitting and found that I would, in fact, need alterations and the sales associate that I had worked with originally was no longer with Ellie's. I ended up doing just the hem and bustle, but that cost me about half the amount I paid for the dress. I was overwhelmed and in tears when I left. When I came in for my second fitting, they told me they had lost my file and didn't have record of my payments. I had to show them my bank statements because they were so disorganized! In short, I thought the store was lovely and the dress selection was amazing, especially compared to other places in the area. I recommend this place, but proceed with caution! Keep all your receipts, and research other options for alterations or work the cost of them into your budget from the start, despite what they tell you.

18 reviews 13 photos

Emily M.

2/7/2017

McLean, VA 62 friends

Ellie's was the first and only bridal salon I visited when shopping for my wedding gown. My maid of honor made the appointment in advance and we brought way too many "helpers" - Kim was very nice about it and accommodated us all. The third dress I tried on was the one - everyone loved it (including me).

77 reviews 92 photos Elite ’17

We shopped in August for a December wedding - I had to pay a hefty $200 fee to get the dress on time. Because my sister made the appointment, the boutique continuously emailed my sister updates such as "your dress is here" even though we had explained to them previously that the bride had a different email. My dress fit almost perfectly - I needed to have cups added and I had the train removed. I'm not sure why but I was automatically charged $600 for the alteration package which includes 3 fittings. I only had 2 fittings so I was definitely overcharged here. The seamstress cut the train off while I was wearing it so I'm very aware that this was not too hard a task. The material was tulle so it didn't need hemming. If you get your dress here - make sure you order early. I recommend meeting with other seamstresses in advance so you can try to find a reasonable price. Due to time restrictions I went along with it due to convenience.

Mackenzie F.

11/7/2017

Knoxville, TN 412 friends

I had a great experience at Ellie's. It was my first bridal shop that I went to for myself. In the beginning, it was amazing. There was only me and two other future brides in the place. I was treated as if I was there alone. Tami wasn't pushy in a sales way, which was great, she let me look, made some suggestions, and helped me all way and even chatted with my mom who was on FaceTime. I would give it 5 stars, but by the end, the place got so packed, I was getting surrounded by people. We eventually stayed in the dressing room. Maybe I was there too long, a little over an hour. Overall, I highly encourage anyone to try Ellie's! And ask for Tami, she is amazing!

5 reviews

K L. Washington D.C., DC 0 friends 14 reviews

11/27/2017 Too much glitter and attitude. I recently had an appointment at Ellie's bridal and was really put off by the entire experience. For starters, I was told that my budget was too low for Eddy K dresses. However, after checking the price points of their Eddy K dresses, most fell within my price range (2,200 and under). The woman who helped me try on dresses seemed completely uninterested. She walked away from me repeatedly in the middle of my appointment to text on her phone. My friends had to help me with the trains on several dresses. I did try a couple of nice dresses on at Ellie's, but there was no way I was going to purchase from them after my experience and the bad reviews.

Ali D.

2/5/2017

Alexandria, VA 0 friends

I went to Ellie's bridal boutique yesterday for a 4 pm appointment. My mom was in town from Ohio for the appointment, as I saw online they were having a Stella York trunk show. To be honest, I was not impressed. First of all, I felt that they falsely advertised the trunk show, as there were only about 10 styles that were included in the show.

7 reviews

I would have been fine with or without a trunk show, I'm not cheap trust me, however I didn't feel that I was treated very well and the store was very over crowded and disorganized. Some of the dresses were missing beading and had tears, which is a huge turn off in my opinion. The quality of the styles is something similar to a Davids bridal if you ask me. The one and only good thing was my consultant Mel was extremely sweet. There was another person working there that was very rude to me though. I personally do not appreciate that, especially when I am about to spend a lot of money at your store. Brides, buying a dress is an extremely important decision and you should be treated with class and integrity when you shop for one. Ellie's bridal boutique did not give me either of those vibes, which is why I would not buy a dress there and I wouldn't suggest anyone else does.

Lorena F.

5/7/2017

Washington, DC 122 friends

This was my first time trying on wedding dresses and I wouldn't have asked for a more perfect try on session! The store, staff and clients had such a great vibe. Just want to say thanks to Kiana and everyone for making this appointment such a memorable moment!

3 reviews 1 photo

··· Can't wait for the big day!

Sarah H.

10/20/2017

Alexandria, VA 0 friends

Overall, my experience here was just okay.

14 reviews

The service on the shopping day was very good. I wanted an off-the-rack gown that could be altered quickly because I didn't have time to order one. I found a great dress here, and the salesperson listened to my preferences and was patient with me trying on many dresses. They charge a lot for dry cleaning of off-the-rack dresses, but the dry cleaner did a great job and the dress looked better than on the day I tried it on. Scheduling appointments is very easy, and the staff is friendly. Alterations didn't go quite as smoothly. I had to come in five separate times to have alterations made, and I wasn't doing anything complicated like adding sleeves, changing shape, etc. I'm also not a complicated shape-- 5'4", size 6, etc. Part of the reason I had so many appts was that I lost weight, but part of it was that the process was just drawn out and not carefully done. The seamstresses, while accommodating, don't seem to have much interest in making sure the dress looked good. It was totally up to me to request that obvious fit issues (gaps in the bust, etc) be taken care of. After what was supposed to be the last fitting, I picked up the dress only to realize that the back hadn't been taken in all the way and there was an unflattering bump in the derriere. On the plus side, they accommodated me 48 hrs before my wedding to fix it. Finally, the bustle, which I'd gone over with the seamstress twice, didn't end up working at all on the wedding day. It fell out very quickly, and my wedding coordinator had to pin the dress up with a clamp. Not ideal, and totally preventable with better quality clasps.

Min K.

7/8/2016

Arlington, VA 70 friends

This review is soley on a bridal dress appointment.

105 reviews

We got here a half hour early so I was perfectly fine with waiting for the consultant to help me. The girl at the front said we could go look at dresses while we waited. I didn't like any of their dresses. It was disorganized, some of the dresses were dirty (from wear) and by the time my appointment time rolled around (11:30 am Friday) they were still too busy for me. Finally, a girl came by and pulled some dresses for me. She was nice enough but it's not the treatment I've received elsewhere and considering the lack of selection, not worth my time.

96 photos Elite ’17

Priscilla J.

10/17/2016

Gaithersburg, MD 30 friends

BUYER BE VERY AWARE---

73 reviews

Liars, very sneaky, and sly. - They deserve ZERO stars.

21 photos

They will nickle and dime you every chance they get. I bought my dress from this Bridal Boutique in December of 2015. I happen to come during a weekend where they had a lot of their dresses on sale (it was a big event). Awesome (Paid $1100 after taxes). Before I bought the dress I wanted to make sure all alterations were covered and if they were not I would budget for the cost (No big deal). Well - I spoke to 3 people, at different moments during that day (my mom and my bridesmaid were also there to witness), and they all told me it would all be covered except for the dry clean. They said that since I got the dress from there, and because there was a special event happening, that all alterations were going to be covered. Okay, great! ....Besides the fact that they lied. The first Lie - They told me that alterations were not included and I would have to pay for them. (I'm about a 6 weeks before my wedding). Since I was upset about this LIE they told me they would discount the alterations cost to $400. (Woop-Dee-Doo) Second Lie - I was looking at a belt from the boutique for $300. I ASKED THEM VERY CLEARLY if I were to buy it from another location (online, etc), if they were going to charge me for it. They told me no (the day I bought the dress). Another Day (right before I bought the belt online): I called and spoke to someone who also told me no, they would not charge me for sewing the belt onto the dress. I received my belt in the mail and called again to confirm for the THIRD time that I was not going to be charged for having them put the belt on that was not purchased from them. Great. The day finally comes where they put on the belt... after its been dry cleaned, altered and all. The lady asks me if the belt was bought from them, I told her no, and she replies with "that's an additional cost that is not covered by alterations." (WHAT THE ACTUAL ***K? - I'm completely UPSET.) - She recognizes that I'm upset, very quickly, and disregards her comment and says "don't worry about it, we wont charge you." Serious Questions: What kind of business are you running where you LIE, several times to a client, and expect them to be happy? Why would you even Lie? You could just be HONEST and tell them, "yes, there is a cost for alterations and putting on a belt that's not purchased from the Boutique. Here are the prices." INSTEAD... You lie several times and expect a customer to be completely happy with your sneaky ways. Why? The fact that I actually paid for your service was out of urgency. I had to, I had no time to look for another place to alter my dress. The fact that you took advantage of that was distrusting. To the point where I thought you were going to charge me for holding on to my dress and storing it before the wedding date. I do not recommend this Boutique at all. Go somewhere else where they will at least respect and KEEP their word.

Jacqueline G.

12/7/2016

Arlington, VA 2 friends

It was the 4th bridal boutique I have visited. I went to 3 different stores in Old Town. Me and my best friend went there on Wednesday morning without any appointment. I can't remember her name but the lady who helped me was very helpful and super nice. I tried several wedding dresses and have found the one. The dress is gorgeous and the price was very fair. I didn't tailored in the store. It would cost me $500-$1000 for minor changes so I took to a different place and paid $30 for tailor.

16 reviews 16 photos

···

··· Pilar A.

···

6/8/2017

Washington, DC 195 friends

I highly recommend Ellie's bridal boutique, specifically Grace- she is wonderful! After a hectic bridal dress experience which included two cancelled gowns and various trips to NYC, I ended up finding my dress at Ellie's and I LOVE it. Grace was so supportive and helpful during my most stressful time and helped me inquire about changes which helped me turn my gown into everything I wanted.

13 reviews

Page 1 of 9

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Next

72 other reviews that are not currently recommended

You Might Also Consider

About

Discover

Yelp for Business Owners

Languages

About Yelp

The Local Yelp

Claim your Business Page

English

Careers

Yelp Blog

Advertise on Yelp

Press

Support

Yelp Reservations

Countries

Investor Relations

Yelp Mobile

Business Success Stories

United States

Content Guidelines

Developers

Business Support

Terms of Service

RSS

Yelp Blog for Business Owners

Privacy Policy Ad Choices

Site Map Atlanta Austin Boston Chicago Dallas

Denver Detroit

Honolulu Houston Los Angeles

Miami

Minneapolis

Portland Sacramento San Diego San Francisco San Jose Seattle Washington, DC More Cities Copyright © 2004–2017 Yelp Inc. Yelp,

,

and related marks are registered trademarks of Yelp.

New York

Philadelphia

Loading...

Ellie's Bridal Boutique - 21 Photos & 164 Reviews - Bridal - 225 N

Find tacos, cheap dinner, Max’s Restaurants Nightlife Home Services Ellie’s Bridal Boutique 165 reviews $$ • Bridal, Sewing & Alterations ...

411KB Sizes 2 Downloads 19 Views

Recommend Documents

Tennessee - Bridal Shops and Bridal Boutique
David's Bridal 5326 Hickory Hollow Pkwy Antioch, Tennessee 37013-3128 615-731-2721. Before I DO ... Restored Memories St

Bridal
Wedding Stage http://www.CintaAyuni.com.my

Sheifa Bridal And Event
Nov 5, 2017 - Untuk pakej /item bawah RM 1000 dan ke bawah, bayaran penuh dikenakan untuk confirm booking) Untuk pakej a

Best 30 Bridal in Oklahoma City, OK with Reviews - YP.com
187 results - This is the real deal with large portions and really nice staff. ... I first heard about Aunt Pittypat's a

Brockwellsflorist Ashford | Weddings Ashford | Bridal Bouquets
Please call us to discuss your requirements. We ensure that your special day is as you had imagined. International, Nati

Bridal Waterfall | Air Terjun Pengantin | — Steemit
Namun, ketika cerita itu beredar dari mulut ke mulut, disambut para juru warta melalui tulisan memikat, semakin banyak w

Devy Ros - Bridal & Gown Designer Semarang
A fashion designer in Semarang best known for her bridal and gown collections that put elegance and glamour at the foref

Famous Bridal Hairstylist in Udaipur Stylo Salon
Famous Bridal Hairstylist in Udaipur Stylo Salon http://stylosalons.com/top-bridal-hair-stylist-in-udaipur/ Stylo Salo

GAIFANG bridal Bali, Prewedding and Wedding Makeup
Bridal in Bali, best service for your event, wedding and prewedding event.

Billings mt bridal show 2013 - dasign.eu
contoh surat gugatan ptun pdf. 120 A Jakarta Timur.Dengan Hormat, Yang bertanda tanggan dibawah ini, n a m a j a b a t.P